Siwei (Shanghai) Biotechnology Co., Ltd.

Platforms

central dogma sample.png
© Khan Academy

What is mRNA?

mRNA, also known as messenger RNA, is the information carrier in the process of gene expression: DNA containing human genetic information is transcribed in the nucleus to produce mRNA, which is then translated in the cytoplasm to produce proteins with various physiological functions.

Mechanism of mRNA-based medicines

The LPP delivery platform delivers in vitro transcribed-mRNA to specific cells in human body, and then mRNA is translated into protein or polypeptide used for immunotherapy, thus achieving treatment or prevention of diseases. Different from DNA, mRNA does not need to be expressed in the nucleus, thereby reducing technical difficulty and risk of changing the cell genome.

Compared with in vitro synthesis of antibody, the cost of in vitro transcription is lower and the development and production cycles are shorter. Therefore, mRNA represents an promising new direction for novel therapeutics.

Challenges for development of mRNA medicines


Delivery efficiency

Since mRNA is easily degraded by RNase in human body, it needs to be protected by a package on its way entering the target cells in human body. In addition, mRNA needs to be delivered to specific antigen presenting cells to achieve the efficacy of immunotherapy.


Translational efficiency

mRNA needs to be expressed as proteins or polypeptides to achieve the therapeutic effect. Since the amount of protein expressed and therapeutic effect are usually positively related, the efficiency of mRNA translation is important. In order to be efficiently expressed in vivo, the mRNA synthesized in vitro needs to resemble the structure of natural mRNA as much as possible and even be further optimized to achieve an ideal level of translation.


Immune efficiency

Since different diseases involve different biological pathways and targets, mRNA needs to be delivered to specific tissues and cells to stimulate the correct immune response in order to treat diseases.


mRNA manufacturing

The industrial-level manufacturing of mRNA is still in an early stage in China and lacks reliable supply. In response to this challenge, Stemirna has built two technology platforms, mRNA synthesis platform and LPP delivery platform, and focuses on the development of mRNA-based medicines for various indications.

About Us
- Our Story
- News Updates
- Contact Us
Platforms
- mRNA Synthesis Platform
- LPP Delivery Platform
- GMP Manufacturing
Pipeline
- Therapeutic Areas
- Development Candidates
Patients
- Clinical Trials
Partnering
- Investors
Join Us
- Opportunities

斯微(上海)生物科技有限公司

EN

科学平台

central dogma sample.png
© Khan Academy

什么是mRNA?

mRNA,又称信使RNA,是基因表达过程中的信息传递者:载有人体遗传信息的DNA在细胞核内被转录并产生mRNA,随后mRNA在细胞质内被翻译并产生执行生理各种功能的蛋白质。

mRNA药物的机制

LPP递送平台将体外合成的mRNA递送到人体中特定的细胞,然后mRNA在细胞质中被翻译成免疫治疗所需要的蛋白或是多肽,从而达到治疗或是预防疾病的效果。和DNA有所不同的是,mRNA不需要在细胞核内表达,因此降低了技术难点,也降低了改变细胞基因组的风险。
体外合成mRNA的价格相比抗体的体外合成相对价格低、周期短,并且药物的研发周期也相对缩短,是免疫治疗极具潜力的一个新方向。

mRNA药物开发的挑战

递送效率

因为mRNA极易被人体内的RNA酶降解,因此mRNA在进入人体和目标细胞的途中需要外层包裹的保护。此外,mRNA需要被递送到指定的免疫递呈细胞来达到免疫治疗的效果。

翻译效率

mRNA药物需要被表达成蛋白质或是多肽来达到治疗效果,而表达量(蛋白质的产量)和治疗效果往往是正相关的,因此mRNA的翻译效率至关重要。为了在体内被高效地表达出来,体外合成的mRNA要尽可能地模仿体内天然的mRNA的结构,甚至需要天然mRNA的基础上进一步优化,以达到理想的翻译效果。

免疫效率

因为每个疾病所涉及的免疫通路和靶点有所不同,mRNA需要被递送到特定的组织和细胞从而激发正确的免疫反应并治疗疾病。

mRNA生产

mRNA的产业化生产在中国还处在一个初期,缺乏可靠的供应。针对这些挑战,斯微生物构建了mRNA合成平台和LPP递送平台这两大平台,专注研发针对各种适应症的mRNA药物。

关于我们
- 我们的故事
- 新闻动态
- 联系我们
科学平台
- mRNA合成平台
- LPP纳米递送平台
- GMP生产
研发管线
- 治疗领域
- 产品管线
患者专区
- 临床项目
全球合作
- 投资方介绍
加入我们
- 工作机会